The name may have changed this year, but the annual clash between East Metro (formerly City) and West Metro (formerly Country) still provided some great footy, with East Metro winning the 2018 match 18-14 at Penrith Stadium on Saturday 7 July.

The boys in gold and blue from East held the upper hand for the majority of the first half, dominating possession and field position, but some dogged defence from the West side kept them in the match. After several missed attempts, East was finally first to score when Nick Kairouz crossed at the  17th minute mark. With Troy Dargin converting, their 6-0 lead was as good as they could achieve despite mounting continual pressure on the West defence and just 7 minutes from half time, against the run of play, West fullback Cyrus Murray ran 70 metres to score under the posts. Mitchell King‘s conversion levelled the score and it looked like the teams would go to the break with the score locked 6 all.

However, just before the bell, East half back Brady Webb forced his way through a tired West defence to score under the posts and give his side a 12-6 lead.

The East dominance looked like it was going to continue into the second half when after only 7 minutes centre Micah Vaki-Leong sprinted 60 metres  to score and an easy conversion by Dargin put his team in front 18-6.

But it was the last the gold team would trouble the scorekeeper as the West attack started to find its mojo. First centre Gabriel Farley scored with 20 minutes left on the clock and then with just 5 minutes remaining Corey Stewart crossed in the corner. Unfortunately for the maroon and golds neither try was converted so East held onto an 18-14 lead until the final whistle.

At the after match presentation the NSW Tertiary side to tour to India in September was announced (see separate post) and the following awards presented:

Player of the Match: Brady Webb (East Metro)

East Metro Players’ Player: Harry King

West Metro Players’ Player: Dennis Curry

East Metro 18 (Tries: Nick Kairouz, Brady Webb, Micah Vaki-Leong; Goals: Troy Dargin 3/3) defeated

West Metro 14 (Tries: Cyrus Murray, Gabriel Farley, Corey Stewart; Goals: Mitchell King 1/3)

The Teams:

East Metro –

  1. Tom Windeatt (UTS)
  2. Max Linden-Smith (Syd Uni)
  3. Micah Vaki-Leong (UTS)
  4. Troy Dargin (Syd Uni)
  5. Ash Johnson (Syd Uni)
  6. Jake Vrahnos (Syd Uni)
  7. Brady Webb (UTS)
  8. Kurt Lewis (Syd Uni)
  9. Jade Ferguson (Syd Uni)
  10. Sofeni Taupo (UTS)
  11. Joe Andrews (Syd Uni)
  12. Johno Paparoulas (UTS)
  13. Harry King (UTS)
  14. Tommy Sarangaya (UTS)
  15. Toby Lei (Syd Uni)
  16. Nick Kairouz (Syd Uni)
  17. Eroni Ligaivu (Syd Uni)
  18. Ben Bronzon (UTS)

West Metro –

  1. Cyrus Murray (Tafe NSW)
  2. Lorence Maroon (Mac Uni)
  3. Gabriel Farley (Mac Uni)
  4. Mitchell King (Tafe NSW)
  5. Michael Klapsogiannis (Tafe NSW)
  6. Bradley Stephenson (Mac Uni)
  7. Jake Williams (Tafe NSW)
  8. Mathew Hennan (Mac Uni)
  9. Luke Preston (Mac Uni)
  10. Dennis Curry (Tafe NSW)
  11. Jordan Pavanihi (Tafe NSW)
  12. Greg Cranney (Tafe NSW)
  13. Joshua Gooley (Mac Uni)
  14. Corey Stewart (Mac Uni)
  15. Tim Curley (Tafe NSW)
  16. Tori Willil (Tafe NSW)
  17. Ryan Archer (Mac Uni)