Since 1971, the TAFE NSW Polecats in association with TAFE NSW have been one of the more successful sides in the NSW Tertiary League, with 15 First Grade, 6 Second Grade and 6 Third Grade Premierships, the Polecats have taken home more silverware than any other club. Based at Kellyville out the Parramatta Centre of Excellence, the club will continue to play in 1st Division, along with a women’s side.
Primary Contact: Peter Lamey
Phone: 0425 290 689
Email: Polecats Contact Page
Website: https://www.polecats.com.au
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/polecatsrl
Youtube: Polecats TV
Twitter: https://twitter.com/polecatsrl
Instagram: https://instagram.com/polecatsrl
Institute: TAFE NSW
Venue: Kellyville Park

Grand Final Review

UTS Wanderers have been crowned 2020 Tertiary Champions after trailing 18 points to 6 against the NSW TAFE Polecats at halftime, to bounce back to amass 40 points in 35 minutes to take the premiership winning 46 points to 18 at Blackmore Oval last Saturday. Relive the match on YouTube While in the Bill Buckley […]

Read More

Tertiary League 50th Year – Grand Final

The 50th Season Grand Final day is here and what a cracker its going to be, when the minor premiers take on the defending premiers for the 2020 NSW Tertiary Students Rugby League Competition Championship at Blackmore Oval this Saturday. After the ten regular rounds the UTS Wanderers claimed their 2nd consecutive minor premiership and […]

Read More

Tertiary League 50th Year – Round 10 Results

Here are the Round 10 results of the NSW Tertiary Students Rugby Competition, played on the 19/9/2020. With the regular season now over congratulations to the UTS Wanderers for claiming this season minor premiership. 1st Division Western Sydney University Ducks 24 lost to UTS Wanderers 48 at Killara Reserve Sydney University 0 lost to TAFE […]

Read More

Tertiary League 50th Year – Round 10 Preview

It’s the final round of the NSW Tertiary Rugby League and in the one of the closes finish in years, the minor premiership or next weeks Grand Final is still not yet decided with the three top side all with the possibility of ending up on 20 points depending on results, so with so much […]

Read More

Tertiary League 50th Year – Round 9 Results

Here are the Round 9 results of the NSW Tertiary Students Rugby Competition, played on the 12/9/2020 1st Division Macquarie University Warriors 8 lost to Western Sydney University Duck  48 at Macquarie University Oval TAFE NSW Polecats 22 lost to UTS Wanderers 32 at Kellyville Sydney University Lions – Bye For all the 2020 fixtures […]

Read More

Tertiary Championship

First Division


View complete table

Club Name: TAFE Western Sydney Polecats
Established: 1971
Other Names: Catholic College Education, Poldings College, Catholic College Education Sydney, ACU Castle Hill, UWS Nirimba, Norwest, Western Sydney TAFE
First Division: 1975, 1976, 1983, 1985, 1987, 1989, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1999, 2003, 2005, 2008, 2012, 2015, 2017, 2019
Second Division: 1981, 1989, 1994, 1996
Third Division: 1984, 1986, 1988, 1990, 2001, 2002
Pre-Season: 1974, 1975, 1978, 1984
First Division: 1984, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1995, 1997, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2007, 2010, 2011, 2016, 2019
Second Division: 1988, 1990, 1993, 1999, 2006, 2012,2016
Third Division: 1987, 1989, 2000
The University Cup competition first kicked off in 1970 when the then NSWRL Second Division club, Sydney University, paired with Macquarie University (North Sydney) and University of NSW (South Sydney) to form a tertiary level Rugby League competition for Metropolitan Sydney. The concept grew rapidly with Tertiary institutes all around Sydney creating teams for the competition in its first few years. North-West Sydney was no different with the then titled Catholic College of Education forming its own Rugby League club at the end of the 1971 season. Based out of Castle Hill, it only took the club four years to record its first Premiership victory, winning the 1975 and 1976 First Grade titles.